Puzzle 291 (Yajilin / Akari)

This is a Yajilin / Akari hybrid puzzle.

Puzzle 291

Puzzle 291


Part 10 of 12 in the Melon’s Puzzle Zoo preview series.

Answer Entry: Enter the digits corresponding to the total number of lightbulbs in each row from top to bottom.

Highlight to see answer: 1121221211

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Puzzle 291 (Yajilin / Akari)”

  1. Ours brun Says:

    I would nearly call this one “easy”, as I never got stuck. I like the way you have to consider once the bulbs, once the loop… and once both in the same time. Nothing tough, but some interesting deductions to make.

    Bastien

  2. Deb Mohanty Says:

    Very interesting indeed.
    Loved the way how the loop satisfies the 1Up at R6C7.

  3. Jonah Says:

    This is definitely the hybrid I’m most excited about. Doesn’t it just feel like these forms were meant to be together?

  4. Me Me Says:

    how would you make a large one of this type?

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I couldn’t say for sure, but I wouldn’t expect it to be that much different from the challenges of making a large instance of any Yajilin-esque puzzle (i.e. having directional clues), when compared to making a small one. Then again, as I suggested above, making one of these at any size is a true pain in the ass, so making a large one would definitely not be a cakewalk.

      As for how to make one of these at all, I don’t think I could really tell you. My methods involved a ton of restarting and a substantial time investment.

Leave a comment