Puzzle 86 (Slitherlink) [All Threes]

This is a Slitherlink puzzle, with a twist. Every 3 in the puzzle is given to you. That is, if the solution has three segments around a single grid square, there is a 3 in that square.

Puzzle 86

Puzzle 86

I dare someone to make a normal slitherlink puzzle with this clue layout. Without doing something like adjacent 0s, I think it’s impossible. That should be the first sign these rules are a bit more interesting than they might appear to be at first. (At least, I was surprised.)

On that note, I apologize in advance for the fact that the solution is identical in some places on each side of the puzzle; the clue layout was a heavy constraint.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Puzzle 86 (Slitherlink) [All Threes]”

  1. rob Says:

    I’m surprised no-one has commented here — it’s an interesting variation and a strong puzzle.

    In the very end, I’m running into an ambiguity when joining up the loops in the center of the puzzle. It’s clear how the loops must match up, but they it’s possible to flip some corners. I guess I should get you a more explicit description?

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I just redid the puzzle myself. There are a few things left hanging very loose in the center until the very end, but things did work out. Check your work to make sure you haven’t put three segments around an empty square – this rule is in heavy use near the end. If you still don’t see anything wrong, you can email me your solution (palmermebane at gmail dot com).

  2. rob Says:

    You’re right, of course. Though I didn’t see it until after solving a third time and preparing some pictures illustrating the different solutions… Thanks!

Leave a comment