Puzzle 399 (Castle Wall)

This is a Castle Wall puzzle.

Puzzle 399

Puzzle 399


One difficulty I have in constructing Castle Wall is that the inside/outside clue information often plays a fairly trivial role. I tried to do a lot more with it here. Consequently, this one is rather tough.

Also, this is advance notice that Puzzle 400 won’t be anything too special. The kind of energy I need to create a large/complex milestone puzzle is being channeled into the packs and next year’s mystery hunt. Speaking of packs, volume 3 is likely to be out in the next couple of weeks.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Puzzle 399 (Castle Wall)”

  1. Linus Says:

    Cool! This one took me approximately forever (in my defense, I’ve never done a Castle Wall before), but it was worth it. I like the way the bottom-right section works out – for the longest time, I was convinced it couldn’t possibly be unique.

  2. Jack Brennen Says:

    This one took me quite a while, and I’ve done every Castle Wall puzzle in this blog. 🙂 There were really very few “easy” sections at all in this puzzle, which made it interesting and impressively constructed.

    A bit susceptible to meta-logic at some points (i.e., if the solution is unique, it must do this) but I avoided such short-cuts.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Agreed on the meta-logic; avoiding that is another major challenge of constructing these, and is near impossible when you have a puzzle with a minimal number of clues like this one. The far top right is probably the worst offender, even after I added that (unneeded) 0-right clue.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Great puzzle. I enjoyed every struggling moment.

Leave a Reply

