Puzzle 384 (Nurikabe) [Pairs]

This is a Nurikabe puzzle, with a twist. Every region of unfilled cells must contain exactly two numbers (instead of one) and have total size equal to the sum of the two numbers.

Puzzle 384

Puzzle 384

I had to cheat symmetry a little bit on this one. Oh well; this was hard enough to construct as it is.

Many of you may be aware that my team (Manic Sages) won the MIT Mystery Hunt this past weekend. I’m hoping to contribute quite a bit to next year’s hunt, both logic puzzles and non-logic puzzles. I don’t anticipate any delays in my blog posting (whether the Wednesday puzzles or packs); the most likely compensation is that I’m probably not going to be writing as many LMI tests this year as I hoped I would.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 384 (Nurikabe) [Pairs]”

  1. qzqxq Says:

    Congratulations! I’m already looking forward to next year’s logic puzzles, and I know I’m going to be extremely impressed by whatever comes up. 😀

    This year was kind of disappointing in terms of the logic puzzles (Blackout was cool, but the pentomino minesweeper seemed to be mostly guessing; we also never finished equal billing or the alternating plus/minus kakuro [which is probably the hardest logic puzzle I’ve ever encountered in any hunt] after sinking lots of time into them), so I was quite happy when Manic Sages won.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      We did end up solving Blackout’s Pentomino Minesweeper with logic only, but it was a monster. For us there was a particularly cruel step in the middle involving counting how many pentominoes could be in each region of the puzzle, despite the top half still being mostly blank.

      The Sudoku was solved during one of my sleeping shifts, and the Kakuro was indeed damn hard, mostly due to a combination of the size and the tightness of the solving path: there weren’t any steps beyond what you’d see in a medium/hard contest Kakuro, but finding them was another story.

      I will do my best to ensure our hunt ends up delivering in the logic puzzle domain, although I also hope it will shine in other ways as well.

      • Alan Fetters Says:

        Yes, that was the intended path for the pentomino minesweepers. At one point you have parts of what must be 11 different pentominos, and the other one must be somewhere at the top because of the 5 up there. After that point, It’s mostly a matter of connecting the pieces you already have plus finding the only pieces you have that could be a part of the F and the X. Maybe it was a more difficult than it should have been to see the logical path; sorry about that.

  2. Giovanni P. Says:

    Hey congrats on the win for your team. The team I was on failed to do as well, but we managed to kick out a few puzzles. Not bad for my first time in the Hunt.

    As to this puzzle, I had to have a BIG insight regarding the theme, then it became a game of avoiding isolation of the stream, proceeding from right to left. A nice puzzle; glad to see this variation still has some teeth.

  3. ksun48 Says:

    I just got around to it, but this is a fun puzzle! I liked the logic with seperation in various places.

Leave a Reply

