Puzzle 355 (Castle Wall)

This is a Castle Wall puzzle.

Puzzle 355

Puzzle 355


(Click for larger size)

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 355 (Castle Wall)”

  1. Andy Says:

    Aaahhh, it felt good to see this grid pop up, like an old friend. It seems like it’s been a really long time since the last Castle Wall, it’s one of my favorite types.

    A very satisfying solve, and an impressive theme – I quickly noticed the clues being only up/down, but just now saw that all clues in the top half point down, and v.v. This single-clue-axis property felt familiar somehow, but the closest I could find in the archive is way back in puzzle 15. A great one, thanks!

  2. Sam E. Says:

    I must say, I’m not in love with the dark-grey borders around clues. Cosmetics aside, this was a great puzzle. I’m so glad I stayed awake to try it tonight.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      It’s actually a black with a lot of antialias. Now that you’ve pointed it out, I’m not sure how fond I am of it either. Perhaps I’ll try to tweak the appearance in the next couple of days.

      The large version might be more to your liking if you want to avoid the dark grays.

      EDIT: Both images have now been updated to correct this.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Great puzzle. Gotta love the classic Castle Wall to begin with. Throw in the one-directional twist, and it was great fun.

    I must admit that unlike many other puzzles I have solved on your site, despite the fact that this was not in a competition, I definitely employed singularity short-cuts in the middle (left/right) of the puzzle to move along some of the puzzle’s path. With the one-directional clues, it generated a fair share of these and I exploited 2 or 3 to move it along. You have convinced me through things like your Numberlink treatise that singularity being a factor, a good puzzler must exploit that. Just wondering if you had that in mind when you developed this very unique Castle Wall.

    Thanks.

    TheSubro

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I confess I am quite aware of the uniqueness issues in Castle Wall. During construction I am often doing my best to avoid cases where they result in huge sequence breaks. Here, it felt fairly unavoidable with having no horizontal clues, which means a lot of potential solution paths can do some wiggling that no vertical clue can distinguish. But it could have been much worse had I not been trying to avoid it. It’s the main reason this puzzle is stuffed with high almost-saturated clues, with only a few cases where a clue number constrains the path by being low.

      Using singularity where you did is somewhat excusable since I think the part just to the right of the middle is the toughest.

Leave a Reply

