Puzzle 348 (Nurikabe) [Line]

This is a Nurikabe puzzle, with a twist. It is not allowed to have five consecutive black cells in a row or column. The usual Nurikabe restriction that there can be no two by two squares of black cells is waived and no longer applies.

Puzzle 348

Puzzle 348


(Click for larger size)

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Puzzle 348 (Nurikabe) [Line]”

  1. Anuraag Sahay Says:

    I remember having solved the one of almost the same size at the LMI test.This was as much fun and similar in the direction of flow.Are you designing all line nurikabes from right to left?

  2. Jack Says:

    Hmm… I solved it from left to right myself.

    I always like puzzles where the logic is new but consistent, so that once you develop a feel for how the puzzle flows it all snaps into place pretty nicely.

  3. Anuraag Sahay Says:

    Upto half of the puzzle,i progressed in the right-to left direction.To complete the 7 in the middle(which is the last part) i had to complete the entire left side.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I see. I had envisioned this being left-to-right with the middle being the hardest part (as it sounds like you found), so it’s not surprising to hear that the right had some sequence breaks.

  4. Rob Says:

    I solved left to right, and failed on first try yesterday since I didn’t deduce that the bottom left corner had to be white. With that, it solved very well.

  5. TheSubro Says:

    Love the way that 5-in-a-rows pop up in your design so as to direct traffic. Often, I dont see the 5’s coming until Im standing on them. Your designs are great and this flowed (left-to-right) so naturally and was geat fun. Thanks.

    TheSubro

  6. Andy Says:

    L->R here as well, very enjoyable flow once I eventually got the hang of looking for the 5’s.. On these, it always takes me so long to shake my instant reactions to 2×2’s after years of vanilla Nurikabe.

Leave a Reply

