Puzzle 338 (Remembered Length)

This is a Remembered Length puzzle.

Puzzle 338

Puzzle 338


(Click for larger size)

Sorry for the long break. It was very much needed for me though. To make it up, here’s a new type for you to chew on.

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Puzzle 338 (Remembered Length)”

  1. Scott Handelman Says:

    I’m not sure I “proved” a darn thing, but I managed to solve it intuitively.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      That’s alright, especially for a puzzle like this one. I think the intuitive approach is going to be a very bad idea on the next one of these (which is already lined up).

  2. puzzledoctor Says:

    A lovely little puzzle. I look forward to seeing some more testing examples. Congrats.

  3. Tyler Says:

    I eyeballed it at the very end, but before that I found it crucial to deduce segments’ orientation from the surrounding segments or other edges. Nice one.

  4. TheSubro Says:

    I have not tried it yet, just read the rules. The point that is unstated, but I think should be, is that there is a direction to the closed loop, yet there are no arrows indicating direction in your example.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Yes, the lack of arrows is a bit of a limitation on the drawing facilities that I may try to remedy soon. I tried to point the direction issue out with the word “oriented” describing the closed loop in the main description; it’s now emphasized a bit more.

  5. Sam E. Says:

    Interesting. I’m not sure if you meant it this way, but I solved this one a lot like I would a numberlink–meaning a lot more gut feeling and fewer well-defined progressions of steps. I’d say I used numberlink logic on about half the puzzle.

    Oh and welcome back: to blogs and to campus!

  6. Bryce Herdt Says:

    Nice idea, nice puzzle. I didn’t do a lot of counting to find what connected, mostly what didn’t connect. I think I counted to 1.

    • Jack Says:

      Well, for me the main “counting” thing was counting up the squares in the big middle area to verify that absolutely none of the larger regions could re-enter the region.

      • MellowMelon Says:

        All the cells in the big room? What about summing the given numbers and noticing each number N is in a room of size N? (this was the intent)

      • rob Says:

        I think I solved it logically without much summing up, but rather local deductions about where the loop could go.

        Looking forward to the next in the series!

  7. TheSubro Says:

    Enjoyable new diversion. Took me longer than it should have. Starting to develop the tool kit to solve them. I look forward to the next few.

    Thanks.

    TheSubro

  8. Giovanni P. Says:

    Ah, once I did the summing and realized what needed to happen, it felt more like a proper Monday or Tuesday puzzle. Looking forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

