Puzzle 332 (Creek)

This is a Creek puzzle.

Puzzle 332

Puzzle 332


(Click for larger size)

I constructed five puzzles for the 2011 Indian Puzzle Championship that ran the Sunday before last on June 12. All of them but one ended up coming out well enough that I’d like to post them on here too. The last one was a Numberlink / ABC Connect that was too easy and simple to go on here, although it was evidently appropriate for the contest.

Since Creek doesn’t appear much in competitions if ever, this one was included in a round of innovative types, where each type had an easy puzzle and a slightly harder puzzle. This puzzle here is the easy one and was made to be solved by someone new to the type.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 332 (Creek)”

  1. Rob Says:

    Thanks! (A lot easier if you try to connect the white cells instead of the black cells…

  2. Deb Mohanty Says:

    Creek was very appropriate for the competition because its simplistic rules. Even I haven’t seen Creek in any competition – in fact I saw Creek first time in you blog.
    During the competition I was little surprised that some players complained Creek doesn’t have a solution – even some top players. I’m not exactly sure what they thought about the small puzzle, but I exactly know why they thought the big puzzle was wrong. I’ll share that when you post the big one.

    Absolutely agree about Numberlink – the one you made is probably the easiest puzzle you have made in any genre – but it was the first puzzle in our Sprint round, so it had to be easy.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Having trouble figuring out what could fool people on the big creek… the only thing I can think of is that they made the same mistake of another commenter here that entirely unclued squares must be unshaded. Guess I’ll find out next week.

      • Deb Mohanty Says:

        Yes, that was precisely what most competitors assumed. The instructions only specified about clued squares. I still think that the instruction is sufficient. But with so many competitors finding it _wrong_, I had to make an announcement middle of the competition that unclued squares can either be white or black.
        So, my assumption that not many Indian players have solved Creek earlier was spot on, and it was nicely fit into the _innovative_ category.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Intro puzzle indeed, but it reminded me how much I enjoy good ones of these. Thanks. Keep em coming.

    TheSubro

Leave a Reply

