Puzzle 327 (Fillomino Path)

This is a Fillomino Path puzzle.

Puzzle 327

Puzzle 327


(Click for larger size)

In my opinion this is by far the best puzzle among those that didn’t get used. Including Path as a variation was considered almost up to the end, but there were good reasons to drop it. For one thing, this was the Path puzzle I was most attached to, but I wasn’t sure if it was suited for use in a competition (answer entry issues among other things). Path also had a set of directions that were much longer and more complicated than for any other variation, and this was a problem with the Zoo I was intent on correcting.

Also, this image is in black-and-white since it’s the same one that would have gone into the test PDF. There’s no difference between gray squares and the yellow squares in other puzzles.

Finally, this puzzle has the odd distinction of being constructed in very little time, around 5-10 minutes after thinking of the concept. Usually when I try crazy ideas like these I eventually realize they will never work, sometimes quickly and sometimes not so quickly. Here, the puzzle was completed before I even realized it.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 327 (Fillomino Path)”

  1. Andy Says:

    Aahh, felt good, once I finally got rolling – had an extended period of staring at a blank grid. I can see why you were attached to it, a great theme, and really nice logic. Funny to think what answer entries would look like..

  2. Marcin Mucha Says:

    Damn, I can’t seem to be able to solve it. All goes fine until the very end where I get a hole of size 2 in the middle area, right below a 2polyomino (the top middle one). Tried twice with identical results…

Leave a Reply

