Puzzle 314 (Shikaku) [Toroidal]

This is a Shikaku puzzle, with a twist. The grid is toroidal, so rectangles may wrap around the edges of the grid.

Puzzle 314

Puzzle 314


(Click for larger size)

A new type, and here I go doing a variation from the start. But as it stands it’s probably a bit easy for Wednesday anyway. This variation was one I got from the instruction booklet for Twist, LMI’s April puzzle test.

I’m sure some of you are disappointed at the lack of a pi theme, since it is 314. I’ll just excuse myself by saying that I’ve never been a big fan of mathematical constants, despite being a math nerd in general.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Puzzle 314 (Shikaku) [Toroidal]”

  1. Andy Says:

    Really satisfying and fun, at a nice level of difficulty that required some pondering, but left me feeling really smart after figuring out the various implications of the theme..

    Thanks! It’s always exciting to see new puzzles here, welcome back!

  2. Jack Says:

    There’s a nice balance in the logic here where one the one hand the puzzle points the way for you (“you should probably be thinking about this stuff here next”) but even when it’s pretty clear what you’re supposed to be thinking about, the logical puzzles are clever and interesting to actually work out.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    1. Loved the puzzle – after I figured out the driving constraints.

    2. This puzzle proved the point that confidence breeds success. I know your puzzles well, and your comment that “it’s probably a bit easy for Wednesday anyway” let me know that despite the initial gut check seeing many possible variations of the 9s that it would be within reach if I just kept at it and found other constraints to limit the possible variations and to then bring it down. If the comment was that “its probably much too hard for a Wednesday, I may have moved on.”

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

