Puzzle 308 (International Borders)

This is a International Borders puzzle.

Puzzle 308

Puzzle 308


(Click for larger size)

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Puzzle 308 (International Borders)”

  1. David Says:

    Niice.

    With how you seem to be trying to make some puzzles in less-used genres, as well as in new ones, I almost wouldn’t be surprised if there was another Hotaru Beam coming up.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Heh, that last sentence is not an outlandish prediction, but don’t count on it. Actually, the program in its current state can’t do Hotaru Beam anymore because of all the revamps I’ve done and my perceived lack of need to get the type to conform to how I code drawing now. It’s not impossible for me to go back and update it, but it’s one more hurdle I’d have to go through.

  2. David Says:

    It isn’t a very good type, and you’re probably better off without it.

    That’s got me wondering now: Are there any other types from the past that you can no longer do?

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Indirect Yajilin, Hotaru Beam, Numerical Stairs, and Endless Labyrinth are the only ones I don’t have right now. The last two are a bit of a special case as their omission is just because they weren’t in the backup I’ve had to work from since the hard drive crash back in August. I’ve never spent the time to readd them, although they’d probably be quick.

      And I guess technically speaking the contrived mess I made 200 from is missing too, for the same reason. Thanks to the aforementioned revamps though, that one would be really easy to do now. It was much harder a year ago.

  3. David Says:

    Heh, you referenced 200 right as I commented on it.

    Re those four: The words “One of these things is not like the others, one of these things just doesn’t belong…” have never felt more necessary. The other three genres are probably some of your most consistently fun, but Hotaru Beam (while inventive) is a fun vacuum.

  4. Andy Says:

    Wow.. Was this not that difficult? With the “Wed/Thurs” marking and the lack of ‘ouch’ comments, I’m a little ashamed at how long it took me to finally get through this one. I stared at a nearly blank canvas until I finally found my first break-in (was there one besides around the 1-diamond?), and even from there, each step took a lot of thought.

    Disregarding those lamentations, a tough but fun one, now that I see it. Felt weird to place so many blocks while having no idea what colors they would end up separating. And the finished product with these IBs just looks so beautiful using my Paint-like program..

    • MellowMelon Says:

      This puzzle used the “black cells must border two regions” rule very heavily and in a lot of different ways, so if you aren’t used to thinking like that it’s probably very rough. Other than that, my solution had one other difficult step in the middle based on finding four regions, none of whose color you were certain of but which you knew had to all be different, and then using connectivity arguments to determine the colors. I knew as I was posting this it would be on the harder end of Wednesday/Thursday but wasn’t sure exactly.

Leave a Reply

