Puzzle 296 (Right Face)

This is a Right Face puzzle.

Puzzle 296

Puzzle 296


(Click for larger size)

(See 294 for info about this “reject” series.) In a very early draft that poor glmathgrant suffered through — seriously, you will pity him when I finish airing out the dirty laundry — this was the Right Face adult, with Wednesday’s puzzle being the baby at the time. “MellowMelon, what the hell were you thinking?!” you might rightfully say. You’re probably going to say the same thing for the next several Fridays, actually.

That said, the puzzle probably feels right at home on this blog, which is brutal relative to a timed contest.

Other bit of trivia: First ever Right Face larger than 10 by 10 by anyone, at least to the best of my knowledge.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Puzzle 296 (Right Face)”

  1. Jack Brennen Says:

    Yeah, pretty tricky one there, definitely would have been tough for just one piece of a 2 hour timed contest. Probably took me an hour on this one alone.

    Susceptible to meta-logic (knowledge of a unique solution) in a few places, although I only resorted to that once while solving this one.

  2. y Says:

    I actually liked this. I don’t remember previous puzzles of this type where some topological properties of loops in r^2 are very helpful. The solve reminded me of this game http://www.kaser.com/mh.html, with which I think mathgrant is familiar.

  3. David Says:

    Nice work. (Though this puzzle series is making me wonder: Will 299 and 300 be the usual “ridiculously easy prank puzzle”/”ridiculously hard marathon puzzle” combination, or will they continue with the series?)

    • MellowMelon Says:

      One can only guess…

      • David Says:

        At this stage I’ve learned to expect anything except the ordinary from you, so it’s probably not as foolish as it sounds to be waiting for a marathon puzzle in a genre you haven’t done before. In which case, I can’t wait for the big Nikoji (the Nikoli genre Zotmeister called To Each Their Own). 😛

  4. Stumbler's Rider Says:

    I found this to be a very strange example of Right Face. For starters, I really enjoyed how it forced me to use the broad logic of planar graphs. (I think this is probably the same as what y referred to as “topological properties of loops”.) What struck me as oddest was how little the titular rule is used by the robot in following the solution path. I had to use the rule extensively to figure out where to place blocks, but I only counted two places where the robot, in following the solution path, would have to actually decide between turning left and turning right.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Actually, I think the fact that often the robot doesn’t do much “pick right over left” in the actual solution is somewhat common. You’re definitely correct that it doesn’t change how much that rule is used to get the solution in the first place.

Leave a Reply

