Puzzle 294 (Right Face)

This is a Right Face puzzle.

Puzzle 294

Puzzle 294


(Click for larger size)

Over the next several weeks I’m going to be posting some puzzles made for my Logic Masters India test that got cut for various reasons. The test last weekend was 20 puzzles, but I probably constructed at least 60 total for it. One reason is that I held myself to the highest standards for puzzles on the test, so there were a lot of rejects, some of which got cut so fast I never digitized them. Also, the test was originally 30 puzzles (you have permission to cry now) with 5 types per section and a baby/adult of every type. Since I was nowhere near hitting the 2 hour target with that (and it turned out I wasn’t even close with 20), I had to cut back.

As you might guess from the puzzle above, Right Face was the cut Alien type. Right Face’s rules are strange and quite complicated, so it was probably for the better no one had to suffer through figuring it out on the test. This one would have been the baby.

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Puzzle 294 (Right Face)”

  1. Scott Handelman Says:

    Thank you for showing us the stuff left on the cutting room floor…I always find that interesting. Right Face is one I often have trouble wrapping my head around, but this was the right difficulty for a baby. It took me about 2 minutes to finish. No real tricks, just rule application.

  2. mathgrant Says:

    I think it’s interesting how you’d never constructed a Right Face with symmetrical black cells before I’d published my own. Of course, I wouldn’t have published mine if you hadn’t published yours. It’s like Nikoli’s relationship with Sudoku, almost. *laughs*

    Also, this puzzle is far easier than either of the Right Face puzzles from the alpha version. πŸ™‚

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Keep in mind the last Right Face puzzle I posted was almost a year ago, and symmetry is something I’ve been doing a lot more of lately. I can find nearly a dozen recent constructions of mine that employ symmetry in a type that doesn’t usually have it, like Yajilin or Nurikabe.

      Readers of this blog will find out for themselves the truth of that last statement by the end of this week.

      • mathgrant Says:

        Darn, and I was hoping I was an influential person. :[

      • MellowMelon Says:

        Well, there is the question of what made me pick up this habit in the first place, but I don’t know the answer because it kind of happened subconsciously. It’s certainly something you’ve done with quite a lot of types as well, so who knows?

  3. David Says:

    It’s an odd genre, but an enjoyable one — a bit hard to get your head around to begin with, but once you do the puzzles all seem to solve nice and cleanly. A bit like In-Out Slitherlink, or Grant’s Seek And Spell puzzles, or some of the OAPC ideas.

    • mathgrant Says:

      *blinks, is silent*

      “Grant’s Seek And Spell” is as difficult as Right Face or In-Out Slitherlink?

      First of all, I did not invent Seek and Spell; nikoli invented it under the name Kanaore. I am, however, to my knowledge, the first constructor to make said puzzles in a language other than Japanese.

      Secondly, you think the rules of Seek and Spell are really that difficult to grasp? I made a Seek and Spell themed around the webcomic Housepets!, a webcomic whose fanbase isn’t exactly full of nerds like the fanbase for my blog or this blog, and five regulars on the forum managed to solve it. See for yourself.

  4. David Says:

    It was mostly working out whether or not I was supposed to use diagonals when solving that made Seek and Spell difficult to understand, at least in the beginning.

    For me, once I figured out the rules for Right Face and In-Out Slitherlink (admittedly, though, I did ask Palmer for some basic break-in hints on the latter), all of the puzzles have solved nice and easily, without too much trouble. A bit like Seek and Spell/Kanaore puzzles do.

    Then again, I find Hitori easy and Creek ridiculously hard, so maybe we just have different approaches.

    • mathgrant Says:

      Ah, okay. The rules of Seek and Spell aren’t necessarily complex, but for whatever reason, you had confusion over that one detail. Honestly, nobody else has ever brought that up; if they had, that might indicate that the rules on my blog are poorly phrased and need to be rewritten. However, since my rules say you “move one cell at a time up, down, left, or right” to spell words, making no mention of diagonals, I’ll just chalk it up to your brain not working, at least not at that particular moment. In any event, I thought you were comparing the complexity of Seek and Spell to that of the other puzzles, but instead, you seem to be comparing personal experiences. (Speaking of, even with at least one hint from Palmer, I haven’t really gotten the hang of In-Out Slitherlink yet; I’ll need to try to eventually.)

      I certainly don’t dislike Hitori as much as, say, Thomas Snyder does, although I totally see where puzzlers of his ilk are coming from. With With Creek, I do find that the ones made by MellowMelon are definitely on the tough side compared to the ones Nikoli has published.

  5. David Says:

    Don’t worry, I didn’t come across the way to start the Slitherlink (Liars) puzzles until reading his rundown of the LMI test.

    Re In-Out Slitherlink: Check your Facebook messages. πŸ˜‰

  6. Georgi Says:

    I agree with two previously made statements: one, Right Face’s exclusion from the test was certainly for the better; and two, this is indeed the level of difficulty appropriate for the babies. I am sure even one who is unfamiliar with the type, complex as it is, would have no problem with this one.

    And I’m really glad we’ll get to see the puzzles, which strived for the title “MellowMelons best” πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

