Puzzle 293 (Double Back / Country Road)

This is a Double Back / Country Road hybrid puzzle.

Puzzle 293

Puzzle 293


Part 12 of 12 in the Melon’s Puzzle Zoo preview series.

Answer Entry: Start from the first letter alphabetically that is part of the loop and travel clockwise around the loop until you return to the original letter. Enter the letters you encounter in order. Not all letters may be used.

Highlight to see answer: AFCDJLKIBEH

And that ends the preview series for the test, which can be started a bit less than 24 hours after this post goes up. The test can be taken from this page. As said before, it lasts for a consecutive 2 hour block of your choice this weekend. Best of luck for any of you that decide to take it on. I look forward to your performances and feedback.

EDIT: The test can now be started.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 293 (Double Back / Country Road)”

  1. Rakesh Says:

    This was fairly straight forward – one of the very few “easy” examples so far.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      It may be this type comes easier to you. I personally would count it among the harder samples, although I wouldn’t actually call it hard.

      That said, I have a reputation for underestimating my Double Back puzzles, probably due to missed sequence breaks. Maybe that’s biting me in the ass again.

    • Tom.C Says:

      Agree this wasn’t totally straightforward – I had to restart this twice before getting the hang of it. This is probably my carelessness and/or unfamiliarity with both constituents of the hybrid.

      I’d agree this is probably somewhere near the easy/medium boundary. Although this is relatively speaking – there aren’t so many puzzles on Palmer’s blog I’d rate as easy in line with my blog!

      I look forward to hopefully giving this a go on Sunday!

      Tom.C

  2. Andy Says:

    A natural combination of two of my favorite types, surprised you hadn’t put them together before..

    As a long time admirer of your puzzles, I’ve really been looking forward to this weekend since your first announcement, mostly for the additional exposure and fans it will surely bring. I’m kind of dreading the timed aspect, as I am a more ponderous solver, and am expecting an ego-killing result.. But I’ll give it a go, and return to the puzzles afterwards to do the proper savoring.

    Pre-congrats! I look forward to seeing some of these new hybrids and variations in future puzzles.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I’ve heard of many people taking these contests that tend to take things fairly casually even after the clock starts running and spend awhile after time’s up enjoying the puzzles. There’s nothing wrong with that if you mainly just want to experience the author’s work. Although the zoo was written to be a timed contest, I worked really hard to give players a lot to experience as well, so I don’t think that approach will leave anyone disappointed.

Leave a Reply

