Puzzle 264 (Castle Wall)

This is a Castle Wall puzzle.

Puzzle 264

Puzzle 264


Regular readers with astute observational skills will notice the Castle Wall formatting looks a bit different. Still not up to hexagonal grids, but the program has been undergoing substantial changes recently. I have been trying to keep things “backwards compatible” for the most part, but I thought this particular type could use some small changes in presentation.

One improvement resulting from these changes is that the grid size is no longer fixed. So now I could post these in larger sizes! (or even smaller sizes, but I’m not sure why I would want to do this) From now on, I will provide a link to a higher resolution version of each puzzle below the image.

All of this is to speak nothing of the puzzle. Frankly I’m going to stay silent about that part and let you discover for yourself what I’ve whipped up here.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Puzzle 264 (Castle Wall)”

  1. mathgrant Says:

    I don’t think it’s any longer possible to deny that Castle Wall is a surprisingly potent puzzle type.

  2. aclayton Says:

    Really liked this one, had that patented Melon flow.. Got stuck for a while and enjoyed slowly unlocking the center, then the rest proceeded nicely. (it’s also a bit exciting to see 3 puzzle updates in such a short period 😉 )

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Loved it. I agree with Mathgrant about CastleWalls. They are like Yajilin on steroids. I started left and came left to right. You left just enough breadcrumbs for me to find my way. Great puzzles. Thanks.

    Ken

  4. David Says:

    Smaller sizes could work as an alternative for the normal grids on the huge puzzles, like the alternative grid for #100.

  5. linked_puffbird Says:

    Fun puzzle. Thanks!

  6. Bud Simrin Says:

    I am not usually a puzzle person. As an HMC retired alumni, I decided to try one. I have to admit this took me much longer than I had anticipated. It wasn’t until I finally understood that each “move” can be forced, with no guessing involved at all. Prior to that I put in obvious lines and thought I could get other parts by trial and error. Boy did I have a lesson coming! Thanks for these puzzles. Now that I (perhaps) have a methodology I’ll try another one.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I wouldn’t even come close to counting this one among my easier puzzles, so good work for finishing it. It is true that my puzzles tend to become far harder when you try to work them out through guessing.

Leave a Reply

