Puzzle 262 (Country Road)

This is a Country Road puzzle.

Puzzle 262

Puzzle 262


The apology, if you noticed it, is for my silence the past month. Rather than bore you with excuses, I’ll just say that non-square grid styles are still going to take some more time, and I thought I’d hurry up and get myself back on my feet first.

As for the puzzle itself, one could say the apology is also for the level of challenge. It’s not the devilish Heyawake I returned from my last hiatus with, but it ought to give most people trouble.

Update 10/18/2010 9:03 PM ET: fixed crippling error in left side of puzzle. Guess that’s a third thing to apologize for.
Update 10/20/2010 12:00 PM ET: fixed a much more subtle error the first fix introduced resulting in multiple solutions.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Puzzle 262 (Country Road)”

  1. Jonah Says:

    I’ve never tried this form before, but I keep looking at this puzzle and immediately coming to a contradiction. So as not to spoil others, here’s my logic, ROT-13ed:

    *snipped by owner; refers to an old version*

    What am I missing?

  2. Jonah Says:

    Update 10/18/2010 9:03 PM ET:

    Ah.

  3. mathgrant Says:

    You weren’t kidding about the difficulty. o_o; I solved it, but it took a LOT of effort. Finding the break-in on the left side was particularly tricky for me. Good puzzle, though.

  4. Scott Handelman Says:

    Yeah, this one was a challenge, but not so horrible after figuring out what needs to happen on the left. Welcome back!

  5. David Says:

    I’m still getting (by my count) 16 solutions, with the 4×4 block north of the “O” and the 2×2 block exactly in the centre of the bottom two rows left ambiguous.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I’m guessing you’ve gone wrong somewhere else, because I see no way to fiddle with either area and get a different solution. Feel free to send an email.

Leave a Reply

