Puzzle 261 (Slitherlink) [Liars]

This is a Slitherlink puzzle, with a twist. Exactly one clue in each row and column is false. Which clues are lying is up to you to determine.

Puzzle 261

Puzzle 261


The new set of tools is still in progress. I brought this up with an old version dug up from my email inbox, because this idea really wanted to go free.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Puzzle 261 (Slitherlink) [Liars]”

  1. Jack Says:

    That was a particularly beautiful puzzle. You’ve had a couple other puzzles with this rule, but both the symmetry and the elegant logical flow on this one were terrific. “Pick of the Puzzles” for this one.

  2. aclayton Says:

    Same here, enjoyable and beautiful, as usual. For me it was like ‘hitting all the red lights’ – saw the basic properties of the 3-diamonds pretty quickly, stop, ponder. The first ‘aha’ allowed a flurry in the UL and LL corners, then another stop. Another green light led to the UR and LR corners, and.. stop. Finally, avoiding early loop-closing led to a satisfying finish. I’ve mentioned before, I think one of the strengths of your puzzles is the way you’re able to communicate ideas and discoveries of puzzle properties to the solver. Not sure how, maybe through a tightly controlled solving path?

    Another thing I’ve always thought enhances my solving pleasure is the extremely clean look of all the grids. I’d be interested to hear about the tools you’ve made, what the input format generally looks like, etc. – though ‘magic secret sauce’ would be an acceptable answer. 😉

    • MellowMelon Says:

      I couldn’t really tell how I do the communication either, mostly because I think I’ve been doing it pretty well from day one. I think the main thing that matured as this blog went on was the ideas themselves and how cleanly they’re executed. Tightly controlled solving paths are certainly a habit of mine though, so that could be it.

      Magic secret sauce is probably pretty close to the answer in most people’s eyes; it’s a Python/wxWidgets script I coded up myself, which I modified whenever I needed something new. The input format is WYSIWYG. The only really bad thing about it is that I spoiled myself and now find it difficult to construct things on paper. (that and I get paralyzed by hard drive crashes)

      • aclayton Says:

        Heh, I was imagining some freaky LaTeX-like text input format for some reason, not sure why that seemed plausible. 🙂

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Fan-friggin-tastic puzzle. Attractive, smart solve, enjoyable from beginning to end.

    Thanks for the fun.

    Ken

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    Thank you all for the positive comments on this one; as mentioned in the post, this is a puzzle I really wanted to show off. I thought the diamond idea would be nice to begin with, and then when I got it to work with so few auxiliary clues…

  5. Sashas Says:

    Impressive. I’m not ordinarily much of a Slitherlink fan, but I really enjoyed this one.

  6. wartysoybean Says:

    Stayed up ’til 4 watching tennis and doing about 10 of your puzzles, and my two favorites so far are the two Slitherlink [Liars] that I’ve done (this one and 232). Really impressed with that puzzle type, and your mastery of it. I can only assume that you don’t get such nice puzzles out of your first attempts at new styles, and these represent the best of many constructions.

    Thank you so much for the wonderful and generous blog!

    • MellowMelon Says:

      It is true that for the later puzzles, past 200 or so, there is a “construct-scrap-construct-scrap” cycle until I finally get something I’m happy with. I was a little less harsh on myself on some earlier puzzles. My very first Liar Slitherlink construction is in fact published here, as number 76. It’s not as elegant as this one, but IMHO it’s far from bad.

Leave a Reply

