Puzzle 258 (Yajisan Kazusan)

This is a Yajisan Kazusan puzzle.

Puzzle 258

Puzzle 258

This is the second time I’ve done a border-only puzzle of this type. But this one is an even more sparse layout, and the solve is quite different.

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Puzzle 258 (Yajisan Kazusan)”

  1. TheSubro Says:

    Nice to see the return of this puzzle, but I gotta say that it was probably more rewarding for the designer than the solver. You demonstrated the ability to construct this with limited external clues, and that was a nice achievement indeed, BUT for the solver once the gimic was noted, it was a straight solve from there.

    Thanks for the puzzle though.

    Ken

  2. zyzzyva Says:

    This was a pretty fun puzzle to solve, although is was a bit easy. The construction was great though, and the solution looked nice too.

    • mathgrant Says:

      A bit easy?

      . . . A BIT EASY?

      I didn’t figure out the break-in until I went to the bathroom! This was far from easy! You’ve clearly never seen how “easy” these puzzles can get. For example:
      http://mathgrant.blogspot.com/2009/12/puzzle-336-prev-arrow-cation-1.html

      • zyzzyva Says:

        I meant easy relative to MellowMelon’s other Yajisan Kazusan puzzles. It did take me a bit to notice the break in, but after that there weren’t any steps that took a significant amount of time to notice.

      • MellowMelon Says:

        Seems like the words easy, medium, and hard have different meanings on this blog, which is completely my fault of course.

        I think this is another I misjudged though. I thought that figuring out the direction things went in the center was nontrivial. Although anyone that suffered through an earlier checkerboard-themed Sunday puzzle probably found it completely elementary.

      • TheSubro Says:

        I solve most of these puzzles in the bathroom!

  3. Val Says:

    That was fun, thanks for the puzzle!

  4. Jack Says:

    The solver-friendly aspect of this puzzle is that it is actually always clear where you should be focusing your attention. The break-in takes a moment of thought to sort out, but it’s pretty clear what it is going to involve. The near-checkerboard aspects in the middle become pretty clear quickly, and only question is how to leverage up/down against left/right and exploit connectedness and so forth. So the puzzle presents itself as a series of small, managable mini-problems.

    Nice design. I tend to like this style of puzzle. It’s got some of that Hitori-but-not-as-crappy feeling that’s always sort of refreshing.

  5. Scott Handelman Says:

    I didn’t find it too easy. Regardless of the difficulty, it was fun, which is more important.

  6. MellowMelon Says:

    Thanks for the comments on this one; glad it turned out to be entertaining.

    Re the Hitori remark: I’ve said a few times here and elsewhere about how I really like the potential for nice logic in Hitori at the same time that I see why it’s disliked by a lot of others. Out of Sight was my attempt to capture the positive aspects without the negative, which I think mostly succeeded, but I’ve had some success in including those positive aspects in types like this one too.

Leave a Reply

