Puzzle 250 (Nurikabe) [Marathon]

This is a Sunday Nurikabe marathon. That is, it is a very large and very difficult Nurikabe puzzle.

Puzzle 250

Puzzle 250


I have some unfortunate news. With the exception of a total eight days of break, this blog has had one puzzle go up every day for over 200 days now. Tomorrow that will end. There will likely still be updates to this blog, but they will be much more sparse, perhaps around once per week. (and obviously puzzle difficulties will no longer be aligned with the days of the week)

The primary reason is that there are a number of puzzle-related projects I have been wanting to do for months. None of them were things I could find the time to do concurrently with keeping up the schedule on this blog. In addition, although my idea well is not dry, for logic puzzles like these it is not at the depth it used to be, and there are several that I’m putting in reserve for the aforementioned projects.

It doesn’t help that with every post here my publishing standards increase. A lot of time recently has been spent starting or making puzzles that I threw into the reject pile, ones I may have been happy to use in the past. Added with the time spent on puzzles that do go up, that’s an enormous investment.

I should also note that I may begin to put up some additional posts without puzzles. This will be exclusively a puzzle blog, but I may share many of the things I’ve learned about puzzle solving and construction, and some of my philosophies regarding them.

Thanks a lot to everyone who read, solved, or commented here. We’ll still be going, just not as strong as before.

Tags: , , , ,

14 Responses to “Puzzle 250 (Nurikabe) [Marathon]”

  1. motris Says:

    Since being introduced to your puzzles around number 100, I’ve watched as you’ve accomplished many amazing themes and fun challenges. Even though you mention it above in the context of “standards increase”, I should say it was obvious to me that you were maturing in your design skills and getting better and better at what you were doing as your work continued. I look forward to seeing many of these “puzzle projects”, whether they be puzzles in books or magazines or other things entirely. I definitely look forward to hearing any thoughts you have learned on puzzle solving and construction.

  2. TheSubro Says:

    As I have expressed before personally, I greatly appreciate the time and effort you have undertaken over the past year to put out better and better puzzles. What a great resource you have been … and what a welcome sign to see a new puzzle of high quality each morning.

    I look forward to your future posts, whatever and whenever they may be.

    Best Regards,

    Ken

  3. Cy Reb, Jr. Says:

    I’ve started and flubbed on this one half a dozen times over the past couple days. However, when I saw that the 57 had to be stretched out like a wire, I suddenly realized I’d found the theme. I think I have the rest of it from here.

  4. TheSubro Says:

    Done !

    What do you get when you put a turtle in a marathon?
    A very empty finish line when its all over.

    Maybe in my head I took longer than necessary as I knew there was nt gonna be another one waiting for me the next day.

    Great design, great puzzle,

    Thanks.

    Ken

  5. mathgrant Says:

    I’m sorry to hear that your updates will be less frequent. D: Good luck, though. πŸ™‚

  6. kusu Says:

    Why don’t you use this puzzle editor(http://indi.s58.xrea.com/pzpr/v3/) or anything else like this?γ€€
    It’d be much more fun(οΎŸβˆ€οΎŸ)

    • MellowMelon Says:

      The main reason is that I never realized that such puzzle editors existed for a long time. My knowledge of Japanese is nil and I never found blogs like mokuani’s until much later. By the time I did realize these online editors existed, the small one I made and used myself (originally just an image generator) had matured quite a bit. There is another issue in that a number of the types on here are of my own design, and so they don’t have existing applets that support them.

      I agree that puzzles can sometimes be more fun on an applet than on MSPaint or on paper; this was never more apparent than when I released 100, the jumbo Akari. There may be a time when I get around to making versions of these puzzles playable on those sites.

      • kusu Says:

        Thank you very much for replying in spite of my poor English! I understood.I posted the comment above without thinking much, so please forget what I said.

  7. Mark Fox Says:

    Thanks for all the great puzzles you’ve shared with us. I hope you will post something to let us know when/where we can find your future work. If necessary, I’d even pay money to get access to more of your puzzles, and I don’t say that very often! πŸ™‚

  8. Scott Handelman Says:

    *slow clap*

    Just solved this one. It’s a shame that the puzzle was overshadowed by your hiatus, but it really is a great challenge and a spectacular theme.

  9. David Says:

    Niiiiiiiiiiiiice.

  10. wartysoybean Says:

    This is the first of your “marathons” I’ve completed. Really, really excellent puzzle. I figured out the theme pretty early (it’s not exactly hidden all that well πŸ˜› ) and it certainly assisted in terms of providing direction. Had one moment of horror where I had closed in about 1/5 of the puzzle’s area without allowing black squares to escape, but miraculously I managed to find my error and salvage the solve.

  11. Puzzle No. 50 : Akari [Marathon] | PS's puzzles + Says:

    […] to today’s puzzle, I’ve always wanted to construct a marathon puzzle ever since I saw this. Just to be sure I got it done, I chose Akari for the first time. I’ve triple checked this, […]

  12. John Perkins Says:

    This one appears at http://www.janko.at/Raetsel/Nurikabe/690.a.htm too.

Leave a Reply

