Puzzle 218 (Country Road)

This is a Thursday Country Road puzzle.

Puzzle 218

Puzzle 218

Not your usual Country Road puzzle.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 218 (Country Road)”

  1. Scott H. Says:

    I like the “minimalist” minitheme this week. In the crate corral, you minimized the “corral”-ness in the puzzle, and in this one, of course, you minimalized the number of sections. It was a cool design…figuring out the connecting points between sections was the biggest hurdle, but after that, it fell pretty easily. Probably not quite Thursday level difficulty, but a nice diversion as I sat in the back of a meeting goofing off.

  2. TheSubro Says:

    Took me less than a minute to solve. For this turtle that is very unusual. It is also one of the rare puzzles that I solved by feel and instinct – and not strict logic. After I solved it I then went back and figured out its singularity with pure logical steps. A cute diversion nonetheless. Thanks.

    Ken

  3. aclayton Says:

    From my NYT xword-solving days (which ended almost instantly the day I found nikoli.com many years ago), I recall Thursdays tending to be the ‘wild-card’ puzzles, with unusual or especially creative themes, splitting up the more standard crosswords ramping up difficulty Mon-Wed and Fri-Sat.

    By that scale, this puzzle certainly fits on a Thursday, it’s pretty eye-popping to first see a 2-room Country Road.. Took a little while to find the crossing points, then was enjoyable to fill in from there and see how the path would end up.

    As always, thanks for the puzzles! It’s really a treat to come here every day to find a new, interesting puzzle idea..

    • MellowMelon Says:

      If I followed that ‘wildcard’ pattern here, it wasn’t because of the NYT doing it, because I didn’t know about that. I can’t remember off the top of my head if I’ve traditionally slotted the stranger medium puzzles as Thursdays here.

  4. Sparsely Clued Puzzles | Puzzled by Titles Says:

    […] symbolic clues, one can optimize for the number of regions. For example, Palmer Mebane has made a two-regionĀ 1010 Country Road, and Zoltan Horvath has made a two-regionĀ 1010 Maxi […]

Leave a Reply

