Puzzle 217 (Slitherlink)

This is a Wednesday Slitherlink puzzle.

Puzzle 217

Puzzle 217

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Puzzle 217 (Slitherlink)”

  1. Scott H. Says:

    A very aesthetic design that suffers just a tiny bit from the logic of “If I enter this gigantic white space, there are no clues to tell me which way to go, so I know it can’t go that way.” But it suffered much much less from this type of logic than I thought it would, and the one point I was even tempted to use that logic, I saw that it couldn’t go through the white space anyway because the only exit from the white space would cause an early closed loop, so I didn’t have to “cheat”.

  2. aclayton Says:

    A really elegant arrangement of givens, and I liked how the solution mirrored that arrangement – every Nikoli slitherlink I can remember with a distinctive start pattern ended up with a typically amorphous solution, I always wondered if the shape of the final loop could provide interesting theme possibilities.

    It was only afterwards that I really noticed the large areas without clues, and realized the solution *had* to cling near the clues.. I must have taken a different path than Scott, for me the solve flowed nicely and was pretty straightforward, and I was never tempted to use the need to stay out of ‘no-man’s land’..

  3. Tom.C Says:

    A thing of beauty – excellent!

    Tom.C

  4. TheSubro Says:

    Now you are just showing off!

Leave a Reply

