Puzzle 205 (Country Road)

This is a Friday Country Road puzzle.

Puzzle 205

Puzzle 205

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 205 (Country Road)”

  1. Scott H. Says:

    Easy beginning, tough middle, and after a final realization about how many boxes were left, a nice speedy finish. Very good job.

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    Thanks for the comment. This puzzle is definitely the one I will bring up whenever I need to justify having Country Road rules different from everyone else’s.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    One of my favorites. Simple concept, fun new thoughts, didn’t take a weekend. Enjoyed every step along the way.

    Thanks for a great little prize.

    Ken

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    Thanks for the comment. I guess I don’t make too many hard puzzles that don’t take a weekend…

    Alan Curry (who testsolved beforehand) thought this one was nice too, so it looks like this puzzle is quite popular. Although I thought this one was pretty nice, I probably wouldn’t count it among my best… another case of a discrepancy between how much I like a puzzle and how much my solvers do.

  5. motris Says:

    Until the ending, the difference between your rules and Nikoli’s didn’t come into play but I didn’t mind; I was simply enjoying a good challenge on a nicely tiled grid atypical of the style entirely. The conclusion certainly needed your new rules, but I guess I remain agnostic about whether I see them as a necessary improvement since a lot of the steps I enjoyed in the puzzle exist under either interpretation.

Leave a Reply

