Puzzle 204 (Numerical Stairs)

This is a Thursday Numerical Stairs puzzle.

Puzzle 204

Puzzle 204


Q: What are these black cells?
A: See the description page, which has been updated.
Q: Why did you put them in?
A: Because you wanted me to. See, I would think you prefer that I could give you puzzles to enjoy. For me to give you puzzles, I have to be sane. For me to be sane, I have to not bust my brains out trying to get these @#%$! stairs to work like they should. For me not to not bust my brains out, I have to take some liberties, like black cells. Therefore, I put black cells in because you would prefer that I did so.

I don’t know if you can tell from solving them, but every one of these puzzles has been a nightmare to construct, except for the asymmetric one. I might have to drop the symmetric room restriction entirely.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Puzzle 204 (Numerical Stairs)”

  1. Crabbadon Says:

    Hrmm. Forgive me if I’m wrong, but couldn’t the cell 3 squares below the 9 (/one diagonally up-right from the 3) equivalently be equal to the cell which comes two ‘before’ it (assuming that the loop passes the top-left corner clockwise) or exactly two less?

    Sorry for being circuitous, avoiding spoilers.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      If all of your other numbers match mine, that’s definitely impossible. If you still can’t see anything, you can post here in more detail or email me (palmermebane at gmail dot com).

      Also, I don’t particularly mind spoilers in the comments; all my views on that are in the About page.

  2. Crabbadon Says:

    Derp; had two 8s touching.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Palmer, Palmer, Palmer –

    First – nice puzzle.

    Second – never take your blog too seriously (no apologies for time off. no need to explain rule changes in cutesy ways, etc.)

    Just be Palmer and everything else will fall in place.

    Ken

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    1. Thanks.

    2. I’ll keep that in mind. That said, I don’t think I was really apologizing for the time off; most of that post was just reflections on the blog in general. I think it would have been very strange if I had disappeared from here for a week without saying anything though.

  5. Jason Dyer Says:

    Random aside: the absolute fixation on symmetry I can find a little irritating, since there are many beautiful designs that get excluded.

    So feel free to go hog wild on the asymmetry.

Leave a Reply

