Puzzle 197 (International Borders)

This is a Friday International Borders puzzle.

Puzzle 197

Puzzle 197


I have become rather fond of this type as of late. Back when I first posted it I didn’t know what to do with it, but I do now.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Puzzle 197 (International Borders)”

  1. rob Says:

    This puzzle type took a while to get into for me. The “no useless black squares”-rule made it feel a little strange, perhaps a bit like exploiting uniqueness in other puzzles, but that’s gone now. Some nice deductions in here, almost trickier than 177.

  2. David Scherzinger Says:

    There are so many things I love about this puzzle, and they all relate to the same general principle that got me through it.

    I think that this is my favorite of all of your puzzles so far 😀

    • MellowMelon Says:

      This one ranks pretty high on my own list as well (not the top though), and it’s one of several puzzles that was met with an unexpectedly silent reception. So it’s good to hear that.

  3. wartysoybean Says:

    This is a great didactic puzzle. Going in, I didn’t know any “tricks of the trade” for this type, the way 33 or 30 immediately lets me start a slitherlink. So I stared blankly at this puzzle for a while, and along the way of laboriously working from a corner, I figured out a few of these tricks, and my confidence and speed increased substantially through the solve.

    Cool stuff, but I definitely can’t say “best puzzle ever.” You just have too much good stuff on this site!

Leave a Reply

