Puzzle 167 (Yajilin)

This is a Wednesday Yajilin puzzle.

Puzzle 167

Puzzle 167


I almost lied in a response to a comment on Monday’s puzzle, since at the time I had no plans to theme the entire week (not until finishing yesterday’s puzzle). But it’s not even numbers week… it’s powers of two week! So I was right after all.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Puzzle 167 (Yajilin)”

  1. Georgi Says:

    Bah, it took me way too long to figure out the 4 on the upper edge, I guess it’s based on a solving rule I had never thought about. Fun puzzle, anyway.

  2. TheSubro Says:

    Nice puzzle. Good global constraint stuff for a Wednesday puzzle.

    Georgi – Yajilin edge rule – only one shaded cell for every 3 cells. To assist in solving simply group the cells in groups of 3s and any left overs needed on either side to meet the number requirement can be shaded. This method would have immediately forced two shaded cells (one next to the 4 and one next to the 1). We live (we play), we learn.

    Thanks Mellow.

    Ken

    • Georgi Says:

      Well yeah, I got it now, but I only saw it when I shaded a random square on the edge after having stared at it for quite some time.

  3. MellowMelon Says:

    I’m guessing you [Georgi] never got around to puzzle 143 then, which was a Monday that required virtually nothing but that technique to solve. Thanks for the comments.

Leave a Reply

