Puzzle 162 (Nurikabe) [Pairs]

This is a Friday Nurikabe puzzle, with a twist. Every region of unfilled cells must contain exactly two numbers (instead of one) and have total size equal to the sum of the two numbers.

Puzzle 162

Puzzle 162

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Puzzle 162 (Nurikabe) [Pairs]”

  1. Georgi Says:

    This one was very fun. It adds a new dimension to the old logic. I’d like to see more of these.

  2. Scott Says:

    Excellent.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Well done young man. Well done.

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    Whoa. Maybe because I’m not as big of a Nurikabe fan, I didn’t see this one as really good, although I was happy enough with it to have it posted. Was there any part of the logic or whatnot that you found especially good? Thanks for the comments also.

  5. rob Says:

    I quite enjoyed this one, too. It felt like Nurikabe, but with more depth. (That feeling might just be getting used to the different rules, but I don’t think so.)

    There seemed to be quite some variation in the logic, and that variety was part of the appeal. The step I remember liking was in the top right, where if the 3 in the top row connected to the 1, the 2×2-forced empty cell would not reach a second clue paste the 5 on the right.

  6. wartysoybean Says:

    Just finished this one, very nice. I found the most enjoyable part of the logic was the determination of the pairings. In different spots I had to use pairity, box-counting/packing, and topological concerns for the connectedness of the black squares.

    Very nice, I found this more enjoyable than the typical Nurikabe. I’ll get started on the most recent puzzle now 🙂

Leave a Reply

