Puzzle 160 (Fillomino)

This is a Wednesday Fillomino puzzle.

Puzzle 160

Puzzle 160

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Puzzle 160 (Fillomino)”

  1. yy Says:

    Could you edit the grid so it they will be of solid
    lines? I solve fillomino puzzles, (and other puzzle
    type too, and I assume others also do) using the
    flood fill option. When the grid is drawn with broken
    lines it just adds an additional step of redrawing the
    grid. If you like the way the broken grid looks, you
    can complete the grid lines using light gray.

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    Heh, originally they were solid, but someone else wanted to do these on paper. Luckily the light gray lines will work (which I thought of before reading that part actually), so I’ll get to that in a moment.

    EDIT: Okay, this one has been fixed. I’ll get around to doing the others at some point.

  3. Alan Curry Says:

    And I thought the dotted lines were convenient because of the ability to do a color an entire polyomino with a single fill operation, after the borders have been drawn in with solid lines during the solving process. You can’t win.

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    lmao… Winning could happen if I were to post two versions of the image, but replacing the images in each post is tedious enough so I’m not sure I’ll do that. If you don’t mind I’ll stick to the way it is now since I think solvers like yy would be hassled more the other way.

  5. Alan Curry Says:

    It wasn’t a big deal. I just did the coloring to check my solution. (with all the 1’s red, the 2’s green, and the 3’s blue, a violation with two of the same type adjacent to each other would stand out)

  6. yy Says:

    Most image editors have an option for how similar a region has to be for it to fill. You can set the threshold so light gray will not block the flood fill.

  7. TheSubro Says:

    I do them all on a piece of paper with a pen (that which I know) and a pencil (that which I suppose). If we is voting, I is voting for the dashed lines.

    At the same time, if we really be voting, I be voting for puzzles other than Filominos. This one was interesting, but they seem to lack much macro spatial logic and tend to be one step up from Hanje – which I try to avoid.

    Thanks for the dialogue and the fine puzzle. I’ll go back to my pen and pencil set now.

    Ken

    • mathgrant Says:

      While I tend to share your disliking of Hanjie, I can hardly see how Hanjie and Fillomino (which is one of my favorite Nikoli puzzles, BTW) are comparable. If anything, the solving techniques in Fillomino bear a stronger resemblance to some of the techniques used in Nurikabe than to Hanjie.

      I plan on posting a contest called Attack of the Four Puzzles II! on my blog; one of the puzzles is a Fillomino, so be forewarned! 🙂

  8. MellowMelon Says:

    My impression is that there are solvers here who enjoy the standard Nikoli puzzles and those who look forward more to the variations and things they haven’t seen as much of; my impression is this is where you [TheSubro] fall. I try to do a lot of the latter for Friday through Sunday, and I suppose I can try to step it up there unless someone objects. (such puzzles tend to be more difficult which is why they don’t appear earlier in the week as much, case in point here)

Leave a Reply

