Puzzle 148 (Akari) [Queens]

This is a Saturday Akari puzzle, with a twist. Lightbulbs do not just illuminate squares in each of the four directions but in all eight (so rooks have become queens). Furthermore, clue numbers now tell how many of the eight surrounding squares have bulbs on them, as opposed to the four adjacent ones in ordinary Akari.

Puzzle 148

Puzzle 148


A test of your powers of observation. If you want to impress me, solve this one without marking illuminated squares.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Puzzle 148 (Akari) [Queens]”

  1. mathgrant Says:

    I’m afraid I can’t impress you — I only got 2 bulbs without marking white cells, and it still took me forever to finish it. :[

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    Not too surprised; I don’t think I could have done any better. I’d say it’s an accomplishment to solve this one in any fashion though. There are some rather tricky things one must spot to make it all the way through.

  3. Georgi Says:

    I also gave up on trying to impress you quite quickly. But after that it wasn’t terribly hard. I like the variation, very simple and logical and yet it offers a few new possible situations. Do make another one of these sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

