Puzzle 141 (Yajilin) [Crossways]

This is a Saturday Yajilin puzzle, with a twist. It is possible for black squares to be part of the loop. If the loop does go through a black square, it must go straight through the square in both directions, intersecting itself (similar to a self-intersection in Crosslink). Otherwise, the black square behaves as it did in normal Yajilin, with the loop not going through it. When not going through black squares, the loop behaves exactly as it did in normal Yajilin (not intersecting itself for example). Also, the rule that no two black squares may be adjacent still applies.

Puzzle 141

Puzzle 141

The change isn’t quite as subtle as it is from Slitherlink to Crosslink, but it can still play with your head.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Puzzle 141 (Yajilin) [Crossways]”

  1. TheSubro Says:

    I have gotten close a couple of times, but I would appreciate a clarification of this Crossways variation. (1) Is the loop allowed to intersect itself not within a black square? (2) Does it have a unique solution?

    Get fun, I think I have not been consistent with the rules, and wanted this one point of clarification. Thanks.

    Ken

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    (1) The loop behaves exactly as it did in normal Yajilin when not going through black squares, meaning it cannot intersect itself.

    (2) I sure hope so; I was able to test this one to the level of rigor where I don’t believe I’ve let anything slip through. I’ll go through it again right now.

    My hunch is that the puzzle is being a stumper; there are some steps and tricks that are very unintuitive for someone experienced with standard Yajilin.

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Got it. My problem was that I was allowing the loop to cross – like in the Crosslink variation – even when not passing through a shaded cell. It left too many additional path options. Thanks for the clarification, and a great puzzle.

    Please email me your email contact info, as I would like to send you an email off-line.

    Ken

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    Good job for solving it. My contact info was recently put on this page. (under commenting and solutions)

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Whoa… wasn’t expecting that. Thanks a lot. Hope you continue to enjoy the puzzles here – honestly, it’s enough knowing that, although this is quite appreciated.

  5. rob Says:

    Wonderful! This one was really tricky, I kept making wrong deductions despite “understanding” the rules in some sense.

    It feels like this variant needs a higher density of clues or black cells to have any chance of uniqueness.

Leave a Reply

