Puzzle 134 (Crosslink)

This is a Saturday Crosslink puzzle.

Puzzle 134

Puzzle 134


When I first posted this variation, I suggested starting from scratch since this type is so different from standard Slitherlink. I’m going to retract that and recommend keeping in mind what you’ve learned from standard Slitherlink puzzles for this one. Just make sure to check very carefully that your logic still applies to these rules.

Also, it’s been pointed out to me that a rather unique element of a previous puzzle was very easy to miss without a clue. If you’re interested in finding out what it is, go back to puzzle 113 (it’s on the Author’s Favorites page). There is a hint below the solution if you can’t see what the trick is (it will be of limited help while solving though).

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Puzzle 134 (Crosslink)”

  1. Alan Curry Says:

    The rules-page link is messed up. Only the second appearance of the puzzle type, I still need the reminder of how it works

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    Oops, again. I should stop copying and pasting that.

  3. Alan Curry Says:

    I found a family of 6 solutions by adding some extra little detours to the main solution.
    [links now removed]
    The extra possibilities didn’t really hurt the puzzle though. You could declare “minimize total loop length” as an additional constraint, and the solution becomes unique without changing the difficulty.

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    Man, this has been a terrible week from my end of things (also because of Sunday; you’ll see what I mean in a day). I’d rather not put in the length constraint because that would potentially allow for some puzzles with a number of valid but different solutions where you have to find the shortest one. I found another way to fix it though.

  5. yy Says:

    I think I solved it. Crosslink puzzles are very difficult to check.
    The topological checking method of normal slitherlinks
    obviously doesn’t work. This made the last step of the
    puzzle (which was between the zeros in the last column)
    difficult (and it is not unlikely that it is wrong too).

  6. Rob Says:

    Yay, did it. I ended up at the same spot as yy, so we’re probably right. (Both sides stayed separated there.)

    While I appreciate the puzzle, I must say I didn’t enjoy it too much, as solving was a bit on the tedious work-side. No tricky steps, just mechanically marking off blocked segments.

    Also the puzzle seemed quite over-clued, but that might be a false impression.

Leave a Reply

