Puzzle 115 (Yajisan Kazusan)

This is a Monday Yajisan Kazusan puzzle.

Puzzle 115

Puzzle 115


I was thinking that I should maybe try to come up with a less Japanese-sounding name for this puzzle for use on this blog, but I thought this name was kind of catchy (perhaps because I’m butchering the pronunciation). It takes a little time to figure out which consonants are where though.

This is another nikoli type that I found on their website without having seen anyone else’s puzzles, so I’m forging my own ground here like I’ve been doing for Country Road and to a lesser extent Corral.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Puzzle 115 (Yajisan Kazusan)”

  1. mathgrant Says:

    For an “easy” puzzle, I felt that it was on the verge of being medium; I probably felt that because I’ve solved a few dozen of Nikoli’s Yajisan Kazusan puzzles in the Puzzle Box series, and one of the techniques used here, while very logical and tractable, isn’t something I recall seeing in a puzzle marked easy, if at all. 🙂

    I challenge you to make a Yajisan Kazusan, a Nurikabe, or a Corral with symmetrical givens.

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    If I had to guess it’s the block in the top right that tips this over the edge. Completely unsurprising that I missed the target difficulty, seeing as how this is the first puzzle of this type I’ve seen, not counting nikoli’s small sample.

    An interesting challenge. I think I’ll take you up on it, but you’ll have to wait a bit…

  3. Georgi Says:

    Actually the top right is what got me started, I only later saw the obvious break-in in the left. Perhaps not easy as such but definitely not frustrating to solve.

    Looking forward to some more of these 🙂

    And Grant, have you tried making any of these? I’d love to see what you can come up with 🙂

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    Got the top-right first? Interesting, I would not have expected that. Thanks for the comment.

  5. Alan Curry Says:

    I started from the left, but had some trouble adapting to the rules since my yajilin instincts kept kicking in. The 2 adjacent rightward-pointing 1’s almost prevented me from getting this one entirely, since I figured that they can’t both be false, and since they’re both saying the same thing, they must therefore both be true. I even started to write a complaint that it was unsolvable, but the proof had a hole in it so I got the solution after all.

  6. yy Says:

    I started from the top right. The theme of 3 onsecutive clues like that is common in many of the puzzle types. That solved the whole left half. The direct entry from on the left easily completed the puzzle.

Leave a Reply

