Puzzle 109 (Colorlink)

This is a Tuesday Colorlink puzzle.

Puzzle 109

Puzzle 109

I challenged myself to create an easy Colorlink puzzle without blatantly separating the colors (as some I have made did). It was actually pretty tough to do; this is an inherently difficult type to solve, it seems. Anyways, if you aren’t familiar with some of the Colorlink nuances, there’s still a couple of places you might get tripped up on, but it remains a puzzle I’d call easy.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Puzzle 109 (Colorlink)”

  1. Georgi Says:

    I hadn’t solved one of these before and I can see why you’re making them, it was pretty enjoyable, it took me a while because it was new to me but in no way was it hard considering my experience with Slitherlink. There are indeed some fun solving rules to be extracted here, I’ll see what keeps showing up when I solve the rest of these some day. Because this one uses two colors it’s pretty easy to solve in MS Paint as well πŸ™‚

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    Thanks for the comment. I can’t make any guarantees about the quality of the other Colorlinks I’ve posted – when they came out I don’t think I was as good at construction as I am now. But I can try to put some more of these out in the future.

  3. mathgrant Says:

    I actually managed to solve this, unlike the other Colorlink puzzles I’ve tried so far, so it *is* easy. πŸ™‚ Maybe I should try some others. . .

  4. MellowMelon Says:

    Yikes, they were that hard huh? Of course if you were doing 13 or the 3-color one then that’s perfectly understandable. Don’t remember how tough the others are though.

    One thing I’ve figured out in the past few months is that I need to make the debut of a new type not difficult. Broke that with this type for sure (although that was back in single digits). I think the worst violator of this is Double Back; that first puzzle isn’t exactly the hardest I’ve made, but it’s up there.

  5. TheSubro Says:

    Nice puzzle. Appreciate you adding this type to my repertoire.

    My problem with this is simple though. I do most puzzles while traveling, and simply put I would rather not be jumping back and forth with different colored pens markers or pencils. The hassle outweighs the puzzle’s enjoyment

    A very nice puzzles. I just have to leave them for when I’m in front of my art supplies. :0)

    Thanks.

    Ken

  6. MellowMelon Says:

    It’s true that not every type on this blog is a “pencil puzzle” like all of nikoli’s that’s good for traveling and such. Given the wacky themes and occasionally outrageous difficulties I put on here, I think I’ve pretty clearly established that my puzzles fall more on the art side than the entertainment side (nikoli for instance does the opposite), although it’s good to know others think I’m doing okay on the latter part too. So despite being a little awkward to solve, the intricacies of this type are too fun to explore in my opinion.

    On some of the harder Colorlinks I have, I find the color switching isn’t such a hassle because so much time is spent staring. Maybe it’s just as well an easy Colorlink is hard to make.

Leave a Reply

