I was about to answer “the large numebrs were most useful, as usual in nurikabe”. Then I remembered how I ended the puzzle on a smaller island with an unexpected shape. Could that shape have been included on purpose? Yes! It was the U of FILNPTUVWXYZ. Or, in the order in which the clues appear reading left-to-right on each row and top-to-bottom overall: IPYVXLWZFTNU. Guess I missed the extra credit since that ordering doesn’t look meaningful to me.
I figured it was easy to overlook, which is why I put the hint down. Also thought a theme like this one was fitting for the first Sunday puzzle, which I’m hoping to make more unorthodox in comparison to the Friday and Saturday puzzles.
Good Nurikabe. Got the theme (wouldnt have seen it without the comments).
Query:Nurikabe’s rule is that “all the black cells form one contiguous region, not counting squares touching at a corner to be adjacent” I think I have seen this interpreted in different ways:
a. No islands (regions of unfilled cells completely surrounded black cells) are allowed … such as a few of the 1s in your puzzle.
b. The term contiguous allows for surrounding an “island”
The reason I ask is that one can often use this rule to one’s advantage when completing a Nurikabe puzzle, and I wanted to know your take on it.
Wonderful puzzle. The ending was especially impressive, at first I thought I had miscounted, because the shape is so un-Nurikabe, I guess.
The theme is extremely cool, but the extra credit is just mind-blowing. You are a puzzle writing genius, your control over the solution is frightening. I hope this took you a loooooong time to write :P