Puzzle 101 (Fillomino)

This is a Monday Fillomino puzzle.

Puzzle 101

Puzzle 101


It’s been a long time since I posted one of these.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Puzzle 101 (Fillomino)”

  1. mathgrant Says:

    The arrangement of the givens is very pretty, and the puzzle wasn’t too bad. It did, however, lack the implied polyominoes (ones containing no given numbers) and use of the “no two congruent polyominoes may touch” rule which, IMO, make Fillomino so appealing. Even merely changing the 4 at R1C7 to a 3 would have helped in this regard.

    To your credit, though, it *was* easy, just like I was hoping a Monday puzzle would be. 🙂

  2. MellowMelon Says:

    In the process of tweaking I did try to put a hidden polyomino in somewhere but after not succeeding decided it was okay without. I suppose I missed the change you pointed out.

    The “no two congruent ones touch” was supposed to be used… but I guess anything requiring it got thrown away when I filled in the rest of the givens. Doh.

    I’m more proud of this being easy than I probably should be; one thing I’ve consistently had trouble with is making puzzles at that level of challenge that I still find interesting enough to post.

Leave a Reply

