Puzzle 93 (Out of Sight)

This is an Out of Sight puzzle.

Puzzle 93

Puzzle 93

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Puzzle 93 (Out of Sight)”

  1. mathgrant Says:

    I get two solutions. Did I goof? (edit by owner: mistake fixed)

  2. TheSubro Says:

    I liked the puzzle idea, but I’m not a fan of the description of Out of Sight on your other page.

    I did not understand that an unshaded arrow cannot point at another unshaded arrow of the same color.
    I did not understand that an unshaded arrow cannot point at a dot of the same color even though there is a shaded box in between.
    I do not like the use of the phrase “contiguous region” unless it is accompanied by the phrase ” – and shaded squares (one or more) can exist inside the contiguous region”

    I would rewrite your description to read:

    Out of Sight is a puzzle inspired from nikoli’s Hitori. The object is to shade in some of the grid squares. No two shaded squares should be adjacent, and all of the unshaded squares should be in one contiguous region – and shaded squares (one or more) can exist inside the contiguous region. Furthermore, any unshaded arrow should not point to any unshaded cells with a symbol (dot or arrow) of the same color. an unshaded arrow is considered pointing at another cell even if a shaded square is located between the unshaded arrow and the unshaded cell with a symbol. The solution is unique.
    Below is an example puzzle and its only solution.

    Hey, I’m a lawyer. Words do matter a lot in logic puzzle instructions and the concepts expressed in the instructions should not take away from the great puzzles you create.

    Ken

    ***

    How many could have created it?
    … how many could have solved it?
    How wonderful for both.

  3. MellowMelon Says:

    I agree about the need for clarity of instructions; I’ve been frustrated about vagueness of directions as a solver myself, so I have no wish to cause this to anyone who would do my own puzzles.

    I think the main source of ambiguity in the rules I have given is that I assume familiarity with the rules of Hitori. All of your points of contention are restrictions in common with that puzzle. Thanks for commenting about this; I’ll revise the description soon with yours as a guide.

    edit: Done. Please don’t hesitate to say anything if you think some revision is still necessary.

Leave a Reply

