Puzzle 70 (Corral)

This is a Corral puzzle.

Puzzle 70

Puzzle 70

Try your best to solve this one with as little trial and error as possible. The logical solution is difficult, but it is very rewarding to find. Definitely one of my better puzzles, as long as I didn’t miss any sequence breaks.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Puzzle 70 (Corral)”

  1. rob Says:

    This puzzle was a lot of fun! I had to start over several times, which doesn’t usually happen for me. It’s the hardest of your puzzles I’ve worked out so far — thanks!

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Thank you for the comment. I wasn’t kidding when I said in the post that the logical solution was difficult. This one probably has one of the greatest difficulty-to-size ratios of any puzzle on the blog; 178, 200, and 251 are the main rivals.

  2. David Scherzinger Says:

    I got stuck for forever until I realized that there was a particular situation that couldn’t happen, and then figured out that the 6 forced this situation in all but one case.

    I don’t know if that’s how you intended for this to solve, but I enjoyed it thoroughly nonetheless.

    I would also argue that puzzle #67 is a ferocious beast. Maybe I’m just not used to the logic, but it took me a while to figure out the break-in for that one.

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Using the 6 in that fashion is exactly what I was going for in this puzzle. Good work finding that.

      67 is certainly very tricky. In my personal opinion the place where the break-in logic occurs is suspicious enough for it not to rank amongst my hardest, but your mileage may vary. 176, another Out of Sight, is probably a bit harder actually.

  3. Hagriddler Says:

    That was a (for me at least) new and very interesting puzzle type. I am hooked instantly !

    Kudos for constructing a very beautiful puzzle.
    I can see why you advise not to use trial and error.
    The logic interaction between the 3 strategies is very nicely used.

    I was about to ‘complain’ that I’ve found 3 valid solutions, but after closer inspection 2 of them contained a stupid mistake 🙂

Leave a Reply

