Puzzle 61 (Out of Sight)

This is an Out of Sight puzzle.

Puzzle 61

Puzzle 61

I’m guessing one reason nikoli makes Hitori the way they do is to discourage the use of metalogic (using the fact there is a unique solution), which can still be pretty effective but far more cumbersome than in a puzzle type like this. I guess I can’t stop you from using it, but you’re only depriving yourself of the puzzle’s creativity by doing so.

Maybe I should offer prizes for finding errors in my puzzles or something. That would be quite a negative incentive to use metalogic.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Puzzle 61 (Out of Sight)”

  1. mathgrant Says:

    You sick bastard.

    I have been solving AND making regular Hitori for so long, that I’ve developed a reflex: “Oh, these numbers are the same, and in the same row or column, and I’ve marked this one as white, so this one must be black.” Now I have to strain myself to abstain from this reflex unless one of the cells points to the other. If anything, I have to be MORE observant to solve these than Hitori. Evil.

    • mellowmelon Says:

      There’s always a perverse pleasure when someone calls you a sick bastard as they try to solve some challenge of yours. And I wasn’t joking about the note under 59.

      I contend you only have to be more observant because of your habit. I do think this type fixes part of the problem.

      • mathgrant Says:

        I never really thought that Hitori was that ugly to begin with, actually. Rather sadistic at times, yes, but not ugly. But like I said, I’ve become accustomed to it, so I might be rather biased. 🙂

        In any event, having solved these two puzzles, I must say you did a very fantastic job here, and I look forward to more Out of Sight puzzles from you! 🙂

  2. A Goat Noble Says:

    About the metalogic problem… It would be intriguing to see a puzzle that would have a solution if not for three changes that the puzzle author made to it to make it still solvable, but not have a unique solution, where the number of “errors” is given to the challengers, and their main objective is to find all solutions with a bonus challenge of finding what the “errors” are and how to change them to result in a unique solution.

Leave a Reply

