Puzzle 417 (Nurikabe)

This is a Nurikabe puzzle.

Puzzle 417

Puzzle 417

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Puzzle 417 (Nurikabe)”

  1. mathgrant Says:

    A pretty darn easy puzzle by MellowMelon standards, but pretty challenging for anyone not accustomed to you. Not that I’m complaining; it’s a nice break from torturous crap like Potpourri II from Puzzle Pack IV. :)

  2. ksun48 Says:

    I mostly agree with mathgrant, as in like a 1-2 minute solve, but actually, I think your Nurikabes are more interesting than most, even if you don’t think so.

  3. Anuraag Sahay Says:

    Ksun: Did you mean 10-20 minutes ? I knew right away that the top 12 has to get the white squares on the upper right quadrant,but struggled to do that within nurikabe rules.In the end,i managed to finish without losing patience. Very satisfying solve.

    • Anuraag Sahay Says:

      Also the no 2×2 logic was completely lacking.it was connectivity all the way

      • MellowMelon Says:

        Oh, good point; I think that actually is true that the puzzle is uniquely solvable without that rule. That said, having it available significantly speeds up a few of the steps in my opinion.

        Still, I’m not sure how I would have tweaked the puzzle to use it and still kept the flow of the logic I wanted. The downside of making a puzzle this small I suppose.

      • zyzzyva Says:

        No, the puzzle isn’t solvable without the rule; allowing the 12′s to touch the edges on the left and making big blocks with them, I managed a solution with a 5×6 block of black squares on the right. I think I used 2×2 square logic as my first step though.

        I think it’s fine that certain puzzles don’t use all the logic available to the fullest extent. I’m thinking your statue parks that only have the white circles, for example.

      • MellowMelon Says:

        Ah, that’s right. It is needed for that first step. Oops.

    • ksun48 Says:

      Wait by 1-2 minute solve I mean like well under 5 minutes. You know that the only things that can hit the right 2x2s are the 12s, and each has to hit one, and they have to go between the 2s. There’s just enough space for them to go around the 2s, so it’s pretty fast. This is jut my opinion.

  4. linminfang Says:

    R4C9 and R7C9 must be unshaded cells and only the two “12″ can reach there. Then keep the paths of two “12″ don’t connect.

  5. Anuraag Sahay Says:

    Generally,as you said,if all rules come into play at the same time,it speeds up the solve.This one was mostly about not letting the two 12s touch.Reminds me of http://anuragthefirst.blogspot.in/2012/01/no-touch-nurikabe-hard.html

  6. TheSubro Says:

    Nice quick puzzle. Thanks.

    TheSubro

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

