Puzzle 416 (Tapa)

This is a Tapa puzzle.

Puzzle 416

Puzzle 416

The theme is because I turn 23 today. I also recently learned that this is deu’s birthday too; you may know him as a top solver at LMI/WPCs/nikoli.com.

Well, I suppose that mathematically the chances of two active competitors having the same birthday is pretty high. Even so… this does not feel like your typical pair. Apparently the puzzle gods decreed that people born on this day would enjoy nikoli-style puzzles and be very quick at them.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Puzzle 416 (Tapa)”

  1. Anuraag Sahay Says:

    One of the nicer tapas i ve ever seen.The big figure plays the central role here.

  2. Prasanna Seshadri Says:

    Happy Birthday! This Tapa was nice. You use the connectivity between 3s well in a lot of your Tapas. This birthdate, maybe its like a 6 year repeat thing, I wonder when we’ll see the person born in 95!

  3. TheSubro Says:

    Great puzzle. Thanks for the treat. Happy Thanksgiving.
    Your puzzles won’t rise to make the list that the family gives thanks for at the holiday table, but inside I will be grinning and thinking how nicely your creations add to my days. To you and yours, I say THANKS, and have a great holiday season.

    TheSubro

  4. chaotic_iak Says:

    Belch; I’m born on 95 and my birth month is November. But my birthday is not 17 November 1995. “Enjoy nikoli puzzles” is correct for me, but “very quick at them” seems not really…

    Happy (belated) birthday, MellowMelon!

    So apparently I attempted to do a new type of marking when solving Tapa: mark edges where the Tapa wall can’t both use them. This includes bordering givens and known white cells for obvious reasons. This allows me to quickly find the only ways the Tapa can go to in order to keep connectivity, and I solved this while without the marking I think I won’t. Do any of you use the same scheme? Or something different?

  5. ArDeeJ Says:

    Ooh, that edge-marking technique is so useful. Thanks for the tip!

    (Also, I was born in 1995 too! June, though.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

