Puzzle 323 (Fillomino) [Greater-Than]

This is a Greater-Than Fillomino puzzle. The grid will contain inequality signs. Each sign must point from a larger polyomino to a smaller one.

Puzzle 323

Puzzle 323


(Click for larger size)

Part 2 of 4 in the Fillomino-fillia preview series. See mathgrant’s blog for the other half.

Answer Entry: Enter the units digits of each square in the marked rows and columns, from left to right for rows and from top to bottom for columns.

Highlight to see answer: 4446371323, 6777752217

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Puzzle 323 (Fillomino) [Greater-Than]”

  1. chaotic_iak Says:

    Strict inequality… So that means the inequality signs also act as (some) borders?

  2. chaotic_iak Says:

    Apparently “preview” is not equal to “practice”. I get enough preview puzzles, but don’t get enough practice puzzles. xD

    Anyway, nice tricks, but is there any other trick only found in Greater-Than Fillomino?

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Hard to say when I don’t know all of the tricks you’re talking about, but the answer is probably still yes regardless (i.e. there are plenty more).

      mathgrant has posted some of these before (I think his first Monday Mutant was this type), so you might find some other cleverness there.

      I’ll confess I don’t know what you mean when you say preview != practice…

  3. Marcin Mucha Says:

    Nice one. So how do these preview puzzle compare to the contest ones in terms of difficulty level?

    • MellowMelon Says:

      Because of our usual construction tendencies, I think it ended up that in general mathgrant’s puzzles are a little closer to the easy level of the type in question, and mine are closer to the harder level. Exceptions may exist of course.

      • mathgrant Says:

        Indeed. I think I can safely say, without spoiling anything, that there was at least one time when I was surprised by how difficult of a puzzle my co-author was able to construct compared to mine. *laughs*

  4. Serkan Yurekli Says:

    Amazing! I think Greater-Than most beautiful than Shape F. I solved both of them, but i think i liked very much G.-T. F. because of left-right upper side construction. Thank you very much!

Leave a comment