First Anniversary

One year ago, I posted Puzzle 1, a basic 10 by 10 Slitherlink that was pretty easy and not incredibly remarkable (yet still one I bet a computer is unlikely to give you). That was my first ever construction since finding nikoli’s puzzles and seeing the wonderful pieces of work that could be made in that kind of format.

As many of you who participated or kept track of the 2010 US puzzle championship know, I put up a pretty good performance. I got 3rd place and a spot on the US team going to Poland for the world championship this year. The previous year (when it was held in June), I participated but felt ill-prepared for a lot of the test and repeatedly broke most of the things I should have been able to do. My determination to not let that happen again the next year was one of the major things that motivated me to start this blog, as I knew that there was probably a lot to be gained by constructing puzzles of my own. Funny how that accomplishment was timed so closely with this place’s first birthday.

That’s all I’ll say about that, as I think it’s clear this site has certainly done a lot more than get me to the WPC. In the meantime, I’m hoping to get my construction tools redone and completed soon. Although I won’t make guarantees, I may well finally get around to allowing myself to do different grid styles, after which it will time to figure out what can be done with hexagonal Castle Wall or triangular Out of Sight, among other things. Until then, enjoy the 260 I’ve posted so far that you haven’t done yet (or even the ones you have).

6 Responses to “First Anniversary”

  1. Scott Handelman Says:

    Awesome job, man.

    A horrible last half hour of the test, where I broke everything I could get my hands on, kept me out of the top 25 (I made 42nd…had I even looked at the Criss Cross Sums, I would have squeaked into the top 25 because it was much easier than I assumed).

    I’m looking forward to more puzzles from you. Good luck in Poland!

  2. Thomas Snyder Says:

    It was not your Nikoli.com times so much as this year of puzzle construction that made me think you had a real shot this time around. Congrats again, and I do look forward to seeing (and perhaps collaborating) on future construction efforts.

  3. David Says:

    Can’t wait to see what sort of krazy hijinks you get up to with different grid styles at your disposal.

  4. Mark Fox Says:

    Congratulations!

    Every year I mean to put together a training regimen for the USPC, and to my ongoing frustration I can never manage it. The work you put into this site, and the payoff for you at the competition are both inspirational!

  5. TheSubro Says:

    For all of us on the outside looking in, it is very simple … Thanks for the fun you have given us, and to think that it in turn helped you to acheive one of your own goals … that is certainly rewarding to see.

    Congrats all around!

  6. Sarah TX Says:

    Hey, saw that you qualified for the US Team in the HMC newsletter – congratulations from a fellow Mudder and puzzle enthusiast!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

